Home | Members | Help | Submission Rules | Log In |
Recently Added | Categories | Titles | Completed Fics | Random Fic | Search | Top Fictions

Reviews for A Kiss for the Netherfairies

danzer022018.10.26 - 08:55PM6: A Matter of ConsequenceSigned
“And just like with his brewing, he knew exactly how much to add, how long to stir and when to let simmer, and was careful not to put too much heat or pressure, or to be too hasty lest it would ruin the outcome. Potion making clearly was not the only fine and subtle art he had mastered.“ I believe this is my favorite description of SS’s “abilities” ever, (and believe me I have read many!), WOW! Beautifully written! I’m so glad I found this, I usually only read longer fics but I saw where you had written a second story so I read this one first! Can’t wait to continue reading your work! Thank you.

Author's Response: Hello Danzer! I don't check usually check for reviews to this story anymore, as there are hardly ever new ones, but I'm glad I did today! Thank you very much for your kind words! It still makes me happy to have people respond to it. I hope you like the other story, too.

joannie2018.09.02 - 02:20PM5: A Matter of ConscienceSigned
Definitely, one of the best chapters I have read on this site. I loved the interaction and word-play. joannie

Author's Response: Sorry! I haven't looked into the reviews to this story for ages and am only finding your comments now! Thank you so much!!!

joannie2018.09.02 - 01:43PM4: A Matter of OpinionSigned
I promise to refrain from comments until the end, I hope. In the next paragraph, you could be describing my DH! I love your story, not because of this, and I think your writing is fine. I am torn between reading endlessly and stretching it out and savourling it. joannie

joannie2018.09.02 - 01:40PM4: A Matter of OpinionSigned
I had to stop mid-read and comment on this line: ‘But he knew very well that attraction - especially sexual attraction - was never based solely on looks. If it were, very few people would get to procreate. There were other things women found alluring, such as intelligence, humour and a strong personality.’ Fits perfectly with Professor Snape and an intelligent Hermione. I met my DH, of Blessed Memory, when he was 58 and I was 33. He had all those traits - a very strong personality. I did not see what others saw as negative factors: age difference, “strong” character, intelligent to point of not suffering fools lightly - anyway - I just want to say spot on. Good job! joannie

Author's Response: Thank you! It's always nice to hear that what you assume is true actually is. My husband is almost exacty my age, but I could well imagine falling for someone who was older (strangely, younger not so much). And the attraction thing stands: Good looks are nice, but they alone do not make for attraction. In fact, I think they're are just a complementing factor in something much more complex and very hard to define.

joannie2018.09.02 - 01:36PM4: A Matter of OpinionSigned
I had to stop mid-read and comment on this line: ‘But he knew very well that attraction - especially sexual attraction - was never based solely on looks. If it were, very few people would get to procreate. There were other things women found alluring, such as intelligence, humour and a strong personality.’ Fits perfectly with Professor Snape and an intelligent Hermione. I met my DH, of Blessed Memory, when he was 58 and I was 33. He had all those traits - a very strong personality. I did not see what others saw as negative factors: age difference, “strong” character, intelligent to point of not suffering fools lightly - anyway - I just want to say spot on. Good job! joannie

DarkenCoul2018.06.13 - 03:24PM6: A Matter of ConsequenceSigned
And lastly, that kiss that kiss that kiss, oh my! [fans self] And this line: "Potion making clearly was not the only fine and subtle art he had mastered." LOL Oh I'm quite sure that potions are certainly not the only thing he's mastered. I literally laughing right now as I type this. Could that chapter have been any more perfect? I found it amusing that in Hermione's introspection of what it would be like to kiss him, you covered every other way that kissing Snape and always been described. And then you took it beyond that, into a beautiful maturity, a rightness that was painfully exquisite. I love how you closed it, the re-establishing of boundaries, but different, almost ephemeral boundaries because they can't exactly go back to how things were can they? But most importantly, you left the end with hope. Hope for the future, for more glorious conversations [which you delivered in the sequel in spades], and for eventual love, and of course, more kisses. You built the suspense in this story little by little, layer by layer and then you fulfilled it with the beginnings of an all-consuming romance. Absolutely lovely, and, always, perfect. :-) <3

Author's Response: Lol... most people said that they liked the kissing scene very much, which is funny because I always have a hard time writing about these intimacies - it's just not my thing :) I admit I kind of left the road of what most likely happened and wrote about what I wished had happened. I don't know how realistic it is that our beloved Potions Master is a good kisser... After all, I painted him as having plenty sexual experience, but no emotional bonds with anyone. So did he kiss the women he was intimate with in this way? I only ever kissed a man I loved, so I have no idea how kissing is with people you just have sex with. I feel that it's a most intimate thing (you always here that prostitutes don't kiss for exactly that reason) and that one would probably not indulge if it was just a one night stand. But, like I said, I just don't know. So let's just presume Severus liked kissing just for itself and had ample practice. Or that he took the scientific approach and did thorough research just out of interest and because like Hermione, he likes to excel in the things he does. :) At least, that would be my justification if anyone was to point out that Snape kissing like that was highly unlikely :D

DarkenCoul2018.06.13 - 03:04PM3: A Matter of Life and DeathSigned
Yes, the link worked! Hurray! I will definitely read them all there as well but I think I will wait to leave my reviews on the later chapters until they've been posted here, so I can re-read them again to see any changes you've made. :-) Thank you! You, my dear, are a fantastic writer with incredible insight and an intuitive grasp of the depth of the characters. Don't ever let anyone tell you otherwise!

Author's Response: Looking for changes won't work once I'm through... I updated most of the chapters on Fanfiction.net, too, so that the stories are the same. :) Thank you very much for boosting my confidence so much! It's especially hard for me to judge my own writing skills, given that I'm not writing in my native language. I guess I dare to get more creative in German... in English, I have no idea if using certain images or expressions would still be understood or sound okay. I puzzled my dear beta a few times when doing so in English. :) But I love the language and love learning more and more by writing and reading stories. I'm really happy that English native speakers appreciate them and enjoy reading them! Thank you again! You rock!

DarkenCoul2018.06.13 - 02:50PM5: A Matter of ConscienceSigned
This might just be my favorite chapter, I just read it twice more before reviewing. Here, finally, they've reached almost a tentative understanding of each other, an almost truce you could say. I adore that Severus certainly reached a level of comfort, [no matter how discomfited she makes him feel], to be downright playful [for him] with her! I laughed so much at the bit about how he said she got her 'exceeds expectations' in his class, and her response was, here's that word again, perfect! The back and forth, the exchange, the inner thoughts spiraling deeper is just a sight to behold. How you ever came up with the word play to flow so seamlessly and hold so much meaning, is incredible. I love the subtle teasing, I love Severus inner agitation as she gets deeper and deeper under his skin. THIS is how the story should always have gone, he getting to live and gaining his redemption and Hermione and he make far more sense. I could never understand pairing her with Ron, that was nearly as absurd as all the plot holes! I absolutely love this perfect, perfect story. Now I'm off to start my second read through of the sequel, leaving my reviews as I devour it a little slower this time so I can savor it. I will do my best not to beg in my reviews for you to update it faster, but I can't promise! :-) <3

Author's Response: You're absolutely right - Ron and Hermione never made sense to me, either. He's just too goofy... and honestly, what are they ever going to talk about? Hermione is so much ahead of her peers in terms of maturity and intellect that she could never be with a boy her age. I can't truly say that I'm into older guys (my husband is the same age as I am), but for Hermione, it totally makes sense to look for someone who's her intellectual equal, or better yet, someone she admires for his intelligence and knowledge. Severus' face never betrays any emotion (thanks to the brilliant playing fo Alan Rickman), but from the complexity of his character and his history, we know that A LOT has to be going on beneath that stoic surface. Tightly reigned in emotions, passions, insecurities, doubts and even fears. I had a lot of fun trying to look into his head and wonder about what might be going on in that brilliant mind of his. He's definitely my favorite character, and I absolutely disagree with JKR that one wouldn't fall in love with him! Hey, and take all the time you want writing such detailed reviews - I sure LOVE reading them!!!

[Previous] 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [Next]


Disclaimers
Terms of Use
Credits

Ashwinder
A Severus Snape/Hermione Granger archive in the Harry Potter universe

Copyright © 2003-2007 Sycophant Hex
All rights reserved